Birmingham Festival of Quilts – part 2

  Today we're going to enter the world of art quilts.

Scary subject I know, but I might have to eat my previous opinions about them because I was completely bowled over by some and intriguid by others (and in all honesty worried about the mental health of some 'creators' too… but I won't show you those)… and I'll let you make up your mind. 

Art quilt 24

ah the colours; wouldn' this make a most stunning rug?

Art quilt 13

This one was made by an Italian quilter.  Doesn't it make you think of those old villages clinging to the top of a mountain?  I love it.

Art quilt 23

I don't usually go for dark colours… but who would have thought there were so many shades of black?

Art quilt 12

or so many shades of red either?

Art quilt 20

I would love this one on my wall… sigh…

Art quilt 21  

This is made entirely of shopping labels (and handles…)

Art quilt 22

It's happy.  And I like the 'make do' ethos… use what you have type philosophy.

Art quilt 27

all those quilted stiches… I really really like heavily quilted items.

Art quilt 25

how amazing would this look against a white wall?  I'm sure I could even convinced Mr M about it.

Art quilt 26

part fabric part paper.  Genius.

Art quilt 28

this… I don't know how to explain it… can you even call it a quilt? But I absolutely love it.

Art quilt 15

log cabin love.

Art quilt 14

the colours… the heavy quilting… the  funky logcabins…

Art quilt 30

Isn't this the most beautiful use of photographs?

Art quilt 31

looks like graffiti, eh?

Art quilt 8

this island of Manhattan one was one of three and I thought the choice of fabric was great

 Art quilt 9

does anybody know what fabric it is?  It's just gorgeous!!

Art quilt 10

Ok, that's it for today folks…

'Toodles'… (name that film)

13 thoughts on “Birmingham Festival of Quilts – part 2

  1. These are interesting, these quilts, and it’s good to see people pushing the boundaries, but I have to admit sheepishly, I prefer the old-fashioned, usable quilt variety. I think your table runner is more beautiful than all of these quilts. Perhaps it’s unfair to compare them?
    Love Vanessa xxx (do you mind if i knit)

  2. thanks for all this inspiration. that really makes me wanting to give quilting a go!
    thanks for your nice comment. I didn’t really follow a pattern for the cowl, but I was inspired by the links I added to my post..
    have a great day.

  3. I was getting all agitated that you hadn’t shown me any pics from the weekend, then I pop over and realize you have. Your feed isn’t updating in Google reader either. Sadly, I have no technical fix for you this time…. Did you switch it off accidentally?

  4. I think that some of these quilts showed in either Chicago or Paducah this spring. Amazing! I love it when art quilts like this use highly skilled quilting techniques. Good quilt shows are so inspirational!

  5. You asked for a fabric. It´s from Blank Ouilting. I got some, as a memory from my visit in New York last year. Think it´s called “City Limits”.
    It was a great exibition in Birmingham! My first visit, but I hope not my last…

  6. Thank you!!! I’ll start looking for some soon!!!
    Monica
    On 4 Sep 2009, at 20:54, typepad@sixapart.com wrote:
    A new comment from “Katarina” was received on the post “Birmingham Festival of Quilts – part 2” of the blog “Quilt while you’re ahead”.
    Comment:
    You asked for a fabric. It´s from Blank Ouilting. I got some, as a memory from my visit in New York last year. Think it´s called “City Limits”. It was a great exibition in Birmingham! My first visit, but I hope not my last…
    Commenter name: Katarina
    Commenter email: katarina.strombergsson@bredband.net
    IP address: 81.225.16.234
    Authentication: None
    If you would like to publish a reply to this comment you can do so by writing a response on the post “Birmingham Festival of Quilts – part 2”.
    Enjoy!
    The TypePad Team
    Published
    Unpublish
    Delete
    Mark as Spam
    Edit Comment
    Six Apart, creators of Movable Type, Vox and TypePad.
    548 4th Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
    Manage Notifications | Support | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Leave a Reply

